Elected as Seniors, continued

Christine Scanlon ('13)

Brianna Schlemmer Andrea Schukal ('13)

David Serfes

Samip Shah ('12)

Nabeel Sharaf

Emma Sifre

Jessica Sikka

Jacqueline Slemp

Alexander Smith Caitlyn Sousa

Megan Speed

Zachary Stack

Turner Stowik

Rafaella Susara

Mallori Teden

Garret Tirrell

Tyler Valzania

Joanna Vann

Denis Vritov

Suo Wang ('13)

Carley Weted

Benjamin White

Amanda Wildstein

Andrew Wine ('13)

Calliope Wong

Christopher Zins

Nadia Zafar

Jacqueline Williams

Evan Weiss

Madeline Tremblay

Pooja Uppalapati ('12)

Grace Vasington ('13)

Olivia Ventricelli

Sophia Walker ('13)

May Stern

Jacob Hudobenko Stuart Mehrens Ava Iannitti Irena Mikhalvuk Jillian Johnston Caity Miller Kayla Joyce Molly Miller Steven Joyce Jackson Mitchell Olivia Karolak Timothy Monos ('13) Emily Kaufman Ryan Morris Kevin Keary III Britney Murphy ('12) Christopher Keefe ('11) Shannon Murphy John Khalil ('13) Jeffrey Netting Kaylene King Loi Nham ('12) Kerrin Kinnear **Emily Norton** Adam Kocurek Jessica Oknin Adam Kuegler Christen Orticari ('13) Michelle Labrecque ('13) John Ovian Nicholas Lacafta Emily Pakstis ('13) Rachael Ladd Sara Passalacqua Rachel Laffitte Sarthak Patel Rachel Landry Arragon Perrone ('12) Patrick Lau Lawrence Petery III Luke Lebras Kevin Pierce Srinath-Reddi Pingle Sarah Levine Rachel Puelle ('13) Matthew Lin Stephanie Lin Rebecca Puelle ('13) Sofia Lindegren Blazej Pulawski Brittany Lobdell Rebecca Radolf ('12) Madison Loe Lauren Rafka ('12) Eugenia Logie ('13) Meredith Ramsey Alexandra Longacre ('13) Evan Reardon Dana Lovallo ('12) Andrew Redenti Shuyang Luo ('12) Gabriella Reggiano Brian Manby Kelcie Reid ('13) Madeline Marks ('12) Joseph Roessler Maria Marotti Cynthia Romano Kristen Marsillo ('12) Paulina Rowe Amanda Maule James Saghafi Alexandra Maver Michael Sagherian ('12)

Andrew Sanzo ('12)

The PHI BETA KAPPA Society

Epsilon of Connecticut Chapter

Initiation of New Members

Saturday, April 30, 2016

Welcome and Congratulations Mun Choi

Provost, University of Connecticut

Presentation of the Initiates Veronica Makowsky

President, Epsilon of Connecticut

Kenneth Foote

Treasurer, Epsilon of Connecticut

Introduction of Keynote Speaker. . . Jeremy Teitelbaum

Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

University of Connecticut

Lynn Bloom

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor Emerita

University of Connecticut

The History Preston Britner

Historian, Epsilon of Connecticut

The Promise of the Initiates Veronica Makowsky

Vice President, Epsilon of Connecticut

Deborah Cornman

Secretary, Epsilon of Connecticut

Veronica Makowsky

The Declaration Veronica Makowsky

Reception to follow immediately after ceremony

Honorary Member

Mark Boyer

Eric Medawar



SOCIETY HISTORY

Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest and most prestigious undergraduate honors organization, was founded on December 5, 1776, at the College of William and Mary. It was the first society to have a Greek-letter name, and it introduced the essential characteristics of such societies: an oath of secrecy, a badge, mottoes in Latin and Greek, a code of laws, an elaborate initiation, a seal, and a special handshake.

In the winter of 1781, with the British army positioned on the York peninsula, William and Mary closed. Though it reopened a year later, ΦBK activities were not re-established there for many years. This closure would have been the end of ΦBK had chapters not been chartered at Yale in 1780 and Harvard in 1781. Other chapters were added gradually, with 25 comprising the National Council of the United Chapters of Phi Beta Kappa at its creation in 1883.

In 1831, after anti-Masonic agitation prompted much discussion about the Φ BK oath, Harvard dropped the requirement for secrecy, an action that probably saved the society from further open criticism as well as from rivalry with the social fraternities that made their appearance around that time.

A second change was more fundamental. Originally ΦBK had been a society of congenial spirits, similar in membership to the present-day fraternity, and in the character of its meetings to a debating or literary club. As time passed, it tended more and more to become an "honor" society, existing to recognize and to foster excellence in liberal learning at the undergraduate level.

Another necessary development was the admission of women and African Americans. The first chapters to induct women were at the University of Vermont, in 1875, and at Connecticut's Wesleyan University, in 1876. The first African Americans were elected at Yale, in 1874, and at Vermont, in 1877.

Between 1887 and 1917, 64 new ΦBK chapters were established, and by 1983 another 147 had been chartered. UConn's ΦBK chapter, Epsilon of Connecticut, was chartered in 1956. Since 1988, the national organization has been known as "The Phi Beta Kappa Society."

Today, there are 283 chapters at American colleges and universities, electing only the top liberal arts and sciences students at the nation's top institutions. There are also 60 active alumni associations located in all regions of the country. Within those chapters and alumni associations, ΦBK continues to recognize excellence while promoting lifelong growth through programs, publications, awards, and civil discourse.

Newly-Elected Members

Elected as Juniors

Kurt Annelli
Vanessa Bak
Lindsay Cadwallader
Rachael Carnale
Elena Carrington
Kara Casale
Alexis Dziubek
Ryan Englander
Jacqueline Foley
Jared Furtado
Komalpreet Gulati

Richa Gupta
Taylor Hudak
Alyssa Jones
Angel Katiewicz
Maneesh Koneru
Alysia Krzanowski
Katherine Landrey
Bethany Levy
Kayla Marcinczyk
Thomas Martella
Alyssa Mathiowetz

Lisa Mueller Genevieve Nuttall Marissa Petrozza Marissa Piccolo Adriana Racki Klara Reisch Christopher Sacco Sarah Shea Darcy Van Ness

Blake Wetmore

David Wiegand

Elected as Seniors

Victoria Abolafia Patrick Adams Alison Agvent ('13) Nnamdi Amilo Simon Archambault Yumna Arif Peter Bassine John Bear, Jr. Forrest Beaulieu Iulia Beaulieu Filip Bergabo Himakshi Bhatt Nicole Biancuzzo ('13) Scott Bloom ('12) Kelsey Boyne Melissa Bresnan-Gilbo Caitlin Briody Jeffrey Carbonella Christian Caron Andrew Carroll Stephen Cerulli Lauren Chapman Brock Chimileski Katherine Chmieleski

Daniel Clark Julia Clayton Brendan Costello Jacqueline Dakin Sarah Davis Tyler Davis John Dearborn (*13) Michael Degirolamo Julia Demoranville Adam Dion Tess Dokmanovich Christie Dooley Madeline Dorso Micah Duhaime ('12) Madison Dykins Caroline Enright Carol Fabricant ('13) Thomas Feldtmose ('12) Maria Fernandez Gomez Ruth Fetter ('13) Kristine Fillian Daniel Fitzgerald Paige Forcier

Christopher Forstrom ('12)

Harrison Fregeau Emily Gan Abigail Gantt Jacqueline Garland ('12) Joseph Gasser ('12) Adam Ghalmi Nicole Gherlone Samantha Ginzberg ('13) Andrew Gionfriddo ('12) Mikayla Girelli Sergio Goncalves ('13) Theresa Govert ('13) Matthew Green ('13) Melissa Gregoire ('13) Allison Haley Asiya Haouchine Andrew Harnedy Riley Hasson Laura Hatchman ('13) Jessica Hazel Kendrick Henes ('13)

Ashley Hine

Asahi Hoque

Xinyuan Hu